Perpetual Trophies Awarded

Victorian Eastern Region Perpetual Trophies

Traditionally, these perpetual trophies have been presented at the VER Annual Dinner and Fleece Competition.

The trophies are as follows:

  • Lyla Fisher Memorial Trophy: Alpaca of the year, huacaya (inaugurated May 2002).
  • Keith Turner Memorial Trophy: Alpaca of the year, suri (inaugurated April 2010).
  • Bill Plunkett Memorial Trophy: Annual fleece competition, champion huacaya (inaugurated April 2007).
  • Dianne Condon Memorial Trophy: Best new breeder award (inaugurated July 2012).

Click below for the full list of past winners:-


Huacaya Alpaca of the Year – awarded the Lyla Fisher Memorial Trophy

Suri Alpaca of the Year – awarded the Keith Turner Memorial Trophy

Champion Fleeces – awarded the Bill Plunkett Memorial Trophy

Best New Breeder Winners  – awarded the Dianne Condon Memorial Trophy


Introductory dates of the trophies are:


1995 : (The Region’s 1st Gala Dinner)

  • Alpaca of the Year (Huacaya)
  • Champion Fleece (Huacaya)


  • Alpaca of the Year (Huacaya), first awarded in 1995, re-constituted as the
    Lyla Fisher Memorial Trophy.


  • Alpaca of the Year (Suri)


  • Champion Fleece (Huacaya), first awarded in 1995, re-constituted as the
    Bill Plunkett Memorial Trophy.


  • Champion Fleece (Suri)


  • Alpaca of the Year (Suri), first awarded in 2004, re-constituted as the
    Keith Turner Memorial Trophy.


  • Best New Breeder Award,
    Dianne Condon Memorial Trophy.

Our sincere thanks and gratitude to David Daddo (Pitchingga Ridge Alpacas) for collating the information on the VER Perpetual Trophies.



More information

Lyla Fisher Memorial Trophy

Inaugurated in May 2002.

Lyla was a foundation member of the Region and from the early ʻ90s to her untimely passing in 2002, was totally committed to the Region and to the Alpaca Industry, serving the Region in every possible capacity – a highly reputed alpaca breeder; show organiser and programmer; a dedicated committee member, Secretary, Treasurer, Vice-President and President. Her legacy lives on with us, through this award.

Keith Turner Memorial Trophy

Inaugurated in April 2010.

Keith, a product of Dookie College, with cattle and dairy farm origins that began in South Gippsland, traversed into Queensland and returned to South Gippsland where he and his wife Glenda established Mawbanna Alpacas. Keithʼs animal husbandry background together with Glendaʼs alpaca fibre processing skills created a successful venture into quality Suri breeding. Together the couple travelled Australia to learn of the processing of alpaca fleece and further develop their involvement in specialised alpaca handcrafts.
An outdoors man, an ambassador for the alpaca industry, Keith passed away in 2009.

Bill Plunkett Memorial Trophy

Inaugurated in April 2007.

Affectionately known as “The Godfather”, Bill passed away in 2006. A long serving committeeman, a Vice- President and President of the Region and Chairman of the Regional Showing Sub-committee, Bill was the force behind the Show rules and protocols we adhere to today. The consumate Chief Steward, his workshops throughout Australia and NZ stand as testimony to his skill. His unique love of natural fIbres lives on through this award.

Dianne Condon Memorial Trophy

Inaugurated July 2012

Dianne loved alpacas and the Industry with a passion.
A long standing member of the Region, Dianne served extensively at both regional and national committee level. In co-ownership with her husband Ron, their highly successful Shanbrooke Alpaca Stud gained early world-wide recognition. A national and international Show judge, Dianne was accorded an AAA Life Membership for her service to the Industry. Dianne, who passed away on 12th January 2012, is remembered with great affection.